Dictation App Pricing Compared: 14 Apps, November 2026

Current prices for Wispr Flow, Superwhisper, Willow, Aqua Voice, VoiceInk, MacWhisper, Spokenly and more, with free limits and one-time options.

On this page
  1. How much do dictation apps cost?
  2. What do you get on a free plan?
  3. Is a lifetime license worth it over a subscription?
  4. Which apps cover both Mac and iPhone on one purchase?
  5. FAQ
  6. Sources and method

TL;DR

Most AI dictation subscriptions cost $12 to $15 a month, or about $144 a year. Among the 14 apps checked on November 1, 2026, the lowest website subscription prices are Utter Pro at $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year and Superwhisper Pro at $8.49 a month or $84.99 a year.

For a one-time purchase, VoiceInk starts at $25 for one Mac and Spokenly Local+ is $29. Handy is free and open source on desktop, and Apple Dictation is built into Mac and iPhone.

Utter publishes this comparison and competes with the apps listed. Prices come from each vendor’s own pages and were not negotiated or discounted.

How much do dictation apps cost?

Prices below are US dollar website prices unless noted. App Store prices can differ, sometimes by a lot, so check the screen you are buying from.

AppFree routeMonthlyYearlyOne-time
UtterLocal models or your own API keys, with no Utter subscription$6.99$59.99Not listed
SuperwhisperFree plan with up to 2 modes and no AI processing$8.49$84.99$249.99
Voibe DictationFree plan with limited words on one device$9.90$99$199, labelled limited time
Aqua Voice1,000 free words$12$10 a month billed annuallyNot stated
Wispr FlowWeekly word limit that varies by platform$15 per user$144 per userNot stated
Willow VoiceBasic plan with a weaker speech model$15$12 a month billed annually; $143.99 on the App StoreNot stated
MonologueTrial of 1,000 words and 10 notes$15$144Not stated
SpokenlyOn-device models with no word caps$15$144Local+ at $29
TypelessLimited words each week$30$12 a month billed yearlyNot stated
VoiceInk7-day trialNoneNone$25 for 1 Mac, $39 for 2, $49 for 3
MacWhisperFree versionApp Store onlyApp Store only€64 per license
Aiko14-day TestFlight trialNoneNone$24
HandyFree and open sourceNoneNoneNone
Apple DictationBuilt into Mac and iPhoneNoneNoneNone

Voibe also sells a Work plan at $19 a month, $149 a year or $399 once, per seat. Wispr Flow’s Growth plan is $23 per user per month, or $33 with Notetaker. Aiko transcribes files and does not do live dictation.

What do you get on a free plan?

Free plans differ more than paid ones, so read the limit and not just the word “free”.

  • Wispr Flow caps free use weekly. New dictations are blocked above 5,000 words on Mac and Windows, 3,000 on Android and 750 on iPhone, according to its docs.
  • Superwhisper allows up to two modes with no AI processing on Free, and new users get 3,000 words of Pro features first.
  • Spokenly says its on-device Whisper and Parakeet models are free with no word caps, and connecting your own API keys adds no Spokenly charge.
  • Utter has no subscription charge for supported local models or your own API keys. A provider you connect may bill you, and local models need compatible hardware and a download. See how to use Utter for free.
  • Willow keeps Basic free with its weaker Frontier Mini speech model and 20 Scribe uses a week.
  • Typeless and Voibe describe limited free words without publishing a number.

Is a lifetime license worth it over a subscription?

A lifetime license pays back after about three years for Superwhisper and about two years for Voibe. Those figures divide each lifetime price by its yearly price: $249.99 against $84.99, and $199 against $99.

App and planCost over 3 years
VoiceInk, 1 Mac, one-time$25
Spokenly Local+, one-time$29
Utter Pro, yearly$179.97
Voibe Dictation, lifetime$199
Superwhisper Pro, lifetime$249.99
Superwhisper Pro, yearly$254.97
Wispr Flow Pro, yearly$432

These are list prices multiplied out, and yearly prices can change. One-time prices can also buy less than a subscription, and any cloud provider you connect bills you separately.

Which apps cover both Mac and iPhone on one purchase?

Check this before comparing prices, because some licenses stop at the Mac.

  • Superwhisper says the same key works on macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
  • Aqua Voice says one subscription covers Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android.
  • VoiceInk says Mac and iOS licenses are separate. Its iOS app is free during beta, with a one-time purchase afterward.
  • MacWhisper sells iPhone and iPad as a separately named app, Whisper Transcription, with its own subscription options.
  • Utter runs on Mac and iPhone, but activation follows where you bought it, so use the steps for your purchase.

FAQ

What is the cheapest AI dictation app?

For a subscription, Utter Pro has the lowest website price of the apps compared here, at $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year. For a one-time purchase, VoiceInk starts at $25 for one Mac. Handy is free but does not list a phone app.

Is there a dictation app with no subscription?

Yes. VoiceInk, Spokenly Local+ and Aiko (files only) sell one-time purchases, MacWhisper sells a website license, Handy is free, and Apple Dictation is built in. Utter and Spokenly also have free local routes.

Why are App Store prices different?

Vendors set them separately from their websites. For example, Aqua Voice lists Pro at $12 a month on its site and $12.99 on the App Store. Spokenly lists $15 on its site and lower monthly prices on the App Store.

Sources and method

Every price comes from the vendor’s own pricing page, documentation or App Store listing, linked above and checked November 1, 2026. Third-party roundups were not used. Yearly prices marked as monthly equivalents are shown the way the vendor shows them. Taxes and regional pricing are not included.

For help choosing rather than comparing cost, read Best Dictation Software 2026.

Send a correction.

More guides