Is Willow Voice Worth It? Alternatives for Mac and iPhone
Is Willow Voice worth paying for? Its pricing and limits compared with Utter, Wispr Flow, Superwhisper, Aqua Voice and Apple Dictation.
TL;DR
Willow Voice is worth paying for if you want cloud dictation that learns your writing style across email, Slack and docs, and $15 a month ($12 billed annually) suits your budget. If you want lower cost, local processing or more published detail, compare Utter, Superwhisper and Spokenly.
Utter publishes this guide and competes with Willow. Details come from official pages, checked November 1, 2026. No hands-on accuracy test was run.
What does Willow Voice cost?
Pro is $15 a month or $143.99 a year on the App Store, and the pricing page shows $12 on annual billing. Basic is free, with unlimited use of a weaker speech model called Frontier Mini and 20 Scribe uses a week.
No one-time purchase is stated. Willow is available on Mac, Windows and iPhone, with Android listed as coming soon.
What is good about Willow Voice?
Its main strength is style. Willow says it learns how you write over time and adapts your tone across email, Slack, docs and technical tools. It also removes filler words, fixes punctuation and formats automatically, and it works as a custom iPhone keyboard.
What should you check before paying for Willow?
Two details are hard to confirm from its product pages.
- Offline use. Willow advertises dictation without an internet connection, while its security page says normal processing runs on cloud infrastructure in the United States. Its product pages do not say which platforms or plans get offline mode, or whether AI cleanup works offline. Ask Willow if this matters, and test with your connection off.
- Files and exports. File transcription, export formats and speaker labels are not stated on the pages checked. This does not mean they are missing, so confirm them first if you need them.
What is better than Willow Voice for Mac and iPhone?
Nothing is better for everyone, but several apps publish more on specific needs.
| If you want | Consider | Price | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lower cost on Mac and iPhone | Utter | Free local routes; Pro $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year | Lowest listed subscription here, plus your own API keys |
| Documented offline use | Superwhisper | Pro $8.49 a month or $84.99 a year | On-device models on Mac and iPhone |
| Free on-device models | Spokenly | Free locally; Local+ $29 once | No word caps on local models |
| Cloud dictation with Android | Wispr Flow | Pro $15 a month | Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android |
| Editing by voice | Aqua Voice | Pro $12 a month or $10 billed annually | Select text and say what to change |
| A free baseline | Apple Dictation | Built in | Already on your devices |
Willow Voice vs Wispr Flow: which is better?
They are close on price, with Pro at $15 a month for both. Wispr Flow adds Android and publishes detailed documentation, including exact free limits. Willow’s free plan offers unlimited use of a weaker model, while Wispr’s free plan uses a weekly word cap. Try the same paragraph in both, then judge how much you still need to fix.
Who should skip Willow?
Skip it if you need Android today, if you need a one-time purchase, since none is stated, or if your audio cannot leave your device and you cannot confirm the offline route for your plan. If you want your own AI provider, note that bring-your-own-key support is not stated.
FAQ
Is Willow Voice free?
Yes, in part. The Basic plan is free with unlimited use of a weaker speech model and 20 Scribe uses a week. Pro costs $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually.
Does Willow Voice work offline?
Willow advertises offline dictation, but its product pages do not say which platforms or plans include it, or whether AI cleanup works offline. Test it on your device.
Is Utter cheaper than Willow Voice?
Yes, at list price. Utter Pro is $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year, and Willow Pro is $15 a month or $143.99 a year. Utter does not run on Windows, and Willow does.
Sources and method
Claims come from Willow’s product, pricing, security and App Store pages and other vendors’ official pages, linked above and checked November 1, 2026. No Willow help center was found, and Willow’s blog posts were not used. Vendor statements were not independently tested. See also Utter vs Willow Voice.