Wispr Flow vs Superwhisper: Price, Offline Use and Features
Wispr Flow vs Superwhisper compared on pricing, offline dictation, platforms, cleanup, file transcription and free plans, checked November 2026.
TL;DR
Choose Wispr Flow if you want automatic cleanup in the cloud and published per-user team pricing. Choose Superwhisper if you want offline dictation, control over models and a lifetime license. Superwhisper is also cheaper, at $8.49 a month against $15.
Utter publishes this comparison and competes with both apps. Details come from each vendor’s official pages, checked November 1, 2026. It is not a hands-on test, and no accuracy winner is claimed.
Wispr Flow vs Superwhisper at a glance
| Question | Wispr Flow | Superwhisper |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android |
| iPhone minimum | iOS 18.3 | iOS 26.0 |
| Works offline | No, internet is required | Yes, with on-device models |
| Monthly price | $15 per user | $8.49 |
| Yearly price | $144 per user | $84.99 |
| Lifetime price | Not stated | $249.99 |
| Free plan | Weekly word limit by platform | Up to 2 modes, no AI processing |
| Bring your own API key | Not stated | Yes, on Pro |
| File transcription | No | Yes, on Pro, on Mac and Windows |
| Meeting notes | Notetaker on Mac and Windows, rolling out | Meetings on macOS |
Sources: Wispr Flow plans, Wispr Flow system requirements, Superwhisper plans and Superwhisper on the App Store.
Is Superwhisper cheaper than Wispr Flow?
Yes. Superwhisper Pro costs $84.99 a year and Wispr Flow Pro costs $144 a year per user. Superwhisper also sells a $249.99 lifetime license, which pays back after about three years at its yearly price. Wispr Flow does not state a one-time option.
The same Superwhisper key works across macOS, Windows, iOS and Android. For the wider market, see the dictation app pricing comparison.
Does Superwhisper or Wispr Flow work offline?
Superwhisper does, and Wispr Flow does not. Wispr says an internet connection is required for transcription. Superwhisper says it works offline, with on-device models on iPhone as well.
Offline cleanup in Superwhisper has limits. Its S1-mini model runs on your device on Mac and Windows, but it is a Pro feature, English only, and works only in Message and Mail modes. Windows ARM devices need a cloud model instead.
Which removes filler words better?
Neither has an independent result to point to, so test your own speech. Both remove filler words. Wispr Flow does it automatically, and its Backtrack feature handles false starts and self-corrections. Superwhisper does it in Message mode, while Voice to Text mode has no AI processing. Superwhisper’s documentation of built-in modes does not describe self-correction handling.
The practical difference is effort. Wispr Flow sets a style per kind of app, and its Transforms beta takes custom instructions. Superwhisper lets you define custom modes and choose your own models, which rewards people who want to tune things.
Which is better for iPhone?
Both offer a custom keyboard. Superwhisper needs iOS 26.0, and it does not support iPad. Wispr Flow needs iOS 18.3, and its free plan is blocked at 750 words a week on iOS. If your iPhone cannot run iOS 26, Superwhisper is out. The iPhone dictation guide compares more keyboards.
Who should choose which?
| Your priority | Better starting point |
|---|---|
| Offline dictation | Superwhisper |
| Lower paid cost | Superwhisper |
| Your own AI provider keys | Superwhisper |
| Transcribing audio files | Superwhisper |
| Published per-user team pricing | Wispr Flow |
| Older iPhones | Wispr Flow |
| Little setup | Wispr Flow |
Is there a third option?
If you only use a Mac and an iPhone, Utter is worth comparing. Pro is $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year, and you can use local models or your own API keys with no subscription. It has no Windows or Android app. See Utter vs Superwhisper, Utter vs Wispr Flow and the wider list of Wispr Flow alternatives.
FAQ
Is Superwhisper better than Wispr Flow?
Superwhisper is the better fit for offline use, model control and lower cost. Wispr Flow is the better fit for automatic cleanup with little setup, and for teams that want published per-user pricing. Neither is proven more accurate here.
Does Superwhisper have a free plan?
Yes. Free allows up to two modes with no AI processing, and Whisper models are the local option on it. New users get 3,000 words of Pro features first.
Can Wispr Flow transcribe audio files?
No. Wispr says you can’t upload an existing audio or video file on any platform or plan. Superwhisper offers file transcription on Pro.
Sources and method
Claims come from official pricing, documentation and App Store pages linked above, checked November 1, 2026. “Not stated” means the checked pages did not say, and not that the feature is missing. Vendor statements were not independently tested.